pillowcase shoe bags

I’m currently training for the Boston Marathon, which means a whole lot of running, working out and gym going. Dirty shoes gross me out, especially if they’re touching other clean things. I’ve been wanting to make a few shoe bags for a while and I found a great tutorial on Betz White’s blog that was super easy.

I found the pillow case at a thrift store for $1.99. At checkout though, it rang up at 50% off, which made me the happiest person in the world. I picked up some rope to use for the drawstring and I was able to make myself two shoe bags for a total of $2.83.

It took me about 20 minutes to complete each of them and I’m totally thrilled with the outcome. Who knew you could be so excited about shoe bags? I’m planning to make more, some larger for Al’s shoes and some out of different fabrics for some of my fancier shoes. They’re great for travel, as gifts, and even just to have and use for other items as well.

I can’t wait to make more. I’m also going to experiment with different string/ropes as the drawstring. The one I used is a bit too thick, but still works fine. Definitely a better, reusable option compared to a plastic bag!

2 thoughts on “pillowcase shoe bags

  1. If you plan on making them for fancier shoes try a ribbon for a drawstring. A nice grosgrain ribbon won’t fray if the end is sealed(clear nail polish helps).
    Good luck on the marathon, let us know how the training is going!

  2. I think that’s just what I’ll use then! Thanks for the recommendation, I’m still learning about ribbons, ropes and ties. The one I used for these bags was definitely too thick, but still worked.

    I’ll be sure to update on the marathon training, one thing’s for sure it’s COLD outside!!!

Leave a comment