organized dresser drawers

Do you organize your clothes? Your drawers?

We’re doing the best we can to maximize any storage space we have whether it be for clothes, suitcases or rolls of toilet paper. Al has a self standing closet that we got at IKEA a few years ago where he keeps all of his clothing and I use the small closet in the bedroom and a dresser for mine.

I wanted to make the best use of all the space in the dresser so I played around with a few different ways to organize the clothes. The one that worked best was this one:

You may be thinking that I’m nuts and that this takes way too much work to keep up with. But truthfully, it takes me maybe an extra minute when I put the clothes away and I love it for many reasons. The first being that I can see every item of clothing.

When they were just stacked before I would have to tear through everything to find what I’m looking for, resulting in a larger mess. This way also allows so much more space. I’ve never been able to keep sweaters in my dresser because of lack of space and now they all fit.

The only items that I still have stacked are yoga pants and workout bottoms. They were all just too flimsy to line up like this. I also don’t bother to fold socks, underwear or tights. They each have a bin in the top drawer and get tossed in there.

How do you organize your drawers/clothing? Do you have a routine? Do you care? Am I nuts?!

2 thoughts on “organized dresser drawers

  1. Love it! I have an armoire, and am constantly restacking the messy piles, so I need to come up with something to keep it in order. Perhaps I need to invest in some clear bins as well. I use canvas bins under the bed for my collection of scarves, holiday socks and other items so that helps some. Good ideas as always – keep them coming!!!

Leave a comment