operation hoosier makeover: complete

I could probably drag out the posts about my hoosier to at least 4, because I have so much to say about it. But, I’ll save you all the annoyance of 4 posts on one piece of furniture.

We decided to paint it a soft gray, though the finished photos make it look more of a bluish color.

We started by removing all of the hardware, hinges, handles, door, drawers… anything that could be removed really. I lined up all the handles on a piece of cardboard so they could be easily spray painted. I sprayed them Rust-oleum’s oil rubbed bronze.

We took the hoosier apart and brought it outside to sand it. Al sanded and I began priming after him. We did one thin coat of primer with some tinted gray primer that we already had.

Because we used the tinted primer, one coat of paint covered it just enough. It was a hot day so we had to work quick because the paint was drying at record speeds. After sanding, priming and painting it was time to bring it back in the house.

We put all the doors, hinges, handles and drawers back on and cleaned it all up. I decided to cover 4 of the glass panes and leave one open.

This was so simple. I used scrapbook paper that was 19 cents per sheet and some double-sided tape. I cut each sheet to fit the glass and then used the tape to stick it on. You can barely see the tape, and for now it’s just a temporary solution until I decide what I want to do permanently.

Okay, so the final product. Here it is. My most favorite makeover to date. The home to most of my kitchen things…

The placement of it in our kitchen made it reallllly challenging to photograph, but I did my best.

What do you guys think? Love it/hate it? I know it’s not the type of furniture everyone would love and some people might think we’re nuts because we made over an antique. For us though, it’s perfect. We love it and it holds all the things a kitchen should, that ours can’t because there are no darn cabinets!

4 thoughts on “operation hoosier makeover: complete

  1. Great team work! Who needs cabinets when you have a super Hoosier. You could frost or etch the glass or even check out the bubble glass sheets. I used that in a stained glass project, it’s pretty neat. Or maybe do nothing, it looks great. This is a piece that you’ll never part with.

Leave a comment