pinterest project: diy infinity scarf

Are you guys on Pinterest? I know some of you are because we follow each other. Quick recap for those who don’t know about it – it’s a massive online bulletin board where each user has their own pin boards. Anything you see or find on the web can be “pinned” to your board. There are bajillions of ideas and inspiration for pretty much everything on Pinterest. You can find recipes, crafts, workouts, fashion, etc., etc. I’m a little obsessed to say the least.

I thought I’d jump on the blog bandwagon of starting to implement my pins. Lots of others in the blogosphere have been posting about things they’ve made, inspired by Pinterest. So, here’s my first one.

The simplest DIY infinity scarf ever. Basically you take any scarf you already have that has tassels on the ends. If you don’t have one already, scarves are on super sale pretty much everywhere this time of year.

Fold the scarf in half so that the tassels on both ends line up perfectly. I did this on a long table so that I could make sure they were lined up correctly.

Then go ahead and tie the tassels together that match up with each other. I tied them in double knots. You’d probably be fine with one knot, but I’m this crazy, must have double knots always, type of person. Al teases me because I still double knot my sneakers. Like a kindergartener, who doesn’t want her shoes to come untied at school because she doesn’t know how to re-tie them. Yes, that’s me. Anyway, back to the scarf.

Once you have all of the tassels tied together you should have one large circle of a scarf.

Go ahead and cut the long tassels very close to the knots. Not so close that they come undone though.

When you put it around your neck put the knots in the back; they’ll be covered when you wrap it around. Wrap it around once or twice depending on how long it is. I hung mine on my neck and then twisted it a few times before looping it over my head again. It helped it to stay a little tighter.

Voila! An easy, inexpensive infinity scarf! Are you guys making any Pinterest projects these days??

Leave a comment