diy wedding planning binder

In case you didn’t already know, my sister is getting married!

And I’m through the roof excited. And I want every single, solitary detail to be exactly perfect on their special day. And I want to buy her everything on her registry. And I want to spoil her consistently with wedding related things for the next six months. And, and, and.

She’s my only sister and most definitely the best one ever. Right after she got engaged I went out and bought her a nice big wedding planning binder to keep all the details organized.

Well, turns out the binder was missing a ton of pages in it. And I bought it at Borders, which has since gone out of business. I was super bummed. In efforts to not buy a whole new one I decided to work with what was left in the binder and google around for other things I needed.

What I learned, was that I could have made an entire binder from printables on the web. I picked up some three-hole-punched page dividers and folders and got to work. I used my label maker to label all the divider tabs.

I went through the binder and pulled out any unnecessary pages/sections or any that didn’t apply to my sister’s wedding. I then made a list of the pages that I needed, that were missing from the original binder. After doing lots of google searches I found tons of checklists, planning worksheets and other binder worthy information.

The sites I found with the best printables and information on were:

The Knot

Real Simple Weddings

Martha Stewart Weddings

So, although I started with a faulty binder and already had some of the pages needed, I found that I could have just as easily picked up a cute binder and page dividers, and printed off all the organizing and planning pages that I needed from the web.

Much more budget friendly option to keep you organized when planning a wedding. I like adding the folders in the binder too, to contain small things like fabric swatches and business cards.

In the end I was really satisfied with the binder and I was glad I was able to go through it and make it better. I made it prettier too, with the colored page dividers!

This year we have eight weddings! We’re really excited for them all, because we’ve only had about two in the past three years. Happy wedding planning/going to you all!

5 thoughts on “diy wedding planning binder

    • Most definitely, Mario! When I did my own binder I ended up totally relying on some of the Real Simple printouts because I felt they better fit my needs. Have fun planning! xo

Leave a comment