summer reading update

Back in June I shared my reading list for this summer.   So far, I’ve made it through four that were in that original post and one that I found along the way. Here are a few quick reviews. Once I finish the book I’m reading now I’ll be switching over to my brand new Kindle that Al got me for my birthday!

Socialnomics – I had noted that I’d read it a few summers ago. Still good as ever. A great read for those interested in the ins and outs of social media. How it works, how businesses use it and how it has really changed how we do business, connect with each other and live our lives.

Fed Up With Lunch – This was a great summer, beach read. It was incredibly fast reading and the content was very interesting, if you’re interested in this type of topic. The book did a wonderful job of outlining food guidelines in schools, ingredients in school lunches and raised the question of WHY the government allows our precious growing children to be served this horrific quality of “food.” It was actually quite repulsive, but how are we going to fix the problem if we aren’t educated about it?

Stiltsville – I really loved this. It was a sweet story, a love story (but not a mushy one) that spanned over about 30 years. It’s main focus was how this couple made it through the ups and downs of life, how they leaned on each other in hard times and easy and how they managed until the end. It was a great portrayal of how life isn’t always easy, especially with a soul mate by your side. But, if you truly love that person than you work together through thick and thin. I accidentally checked out the large print version. I hope that never happens again. Holy LARGE PRINT.

Half Broke Horses – My friend who recommended this one was right on about it. Such a great, fun, and even educational read with bits of humor too. I couldn’t put it down. It chronicles the life of a young girl all the way through adulthood and her journeys in between.

Have you guys been reading anything good this summer?? I’m always taking recommendations!

4 thoughts on “summer reading update

Leave a comment