fabric painting a “free gift” overnight bag

Earlier this spring I had ordered a bunch of swim suits from Victoria’s Secret. With purchase I received this great duffel bag that was free. Well, when none of the suits fit I called up VS to see if I should also send back the free gift. They said nope, mine to keep. I won’t lie, I was a tad psyched because it was the perfect size bag for 1-2 overnights.

But, I hate advertising brands so I couldn’t stand that in giant capital letters it said “Victoria’s Secret” straight across it. Then I got to thinking about this library book bag I made with the three-year old I nanny for (the middle says her name). We used some fabric paint that we picked up at the craft store.

There was still leftover paint from it so using painters tape I taped off the words on my free bag and started painting.

I think it took three coats of paint and you can still see the silhouette a tad of the letters. For a quick fix though, it was perfectly fine. I could have stuffed the bag to prevent the wrinkles, but let’s keep it real here. You know this bag is shoved in a closet when not in use.

This project was totally free (well, except for the 5 bucks in return shipping I paid to VS to return the suits). If I have time in the next few weeks I’m might grab a darker color fabric paint and paint it again to see if it covers a little better. Not bad for a free overnight bag!

Leave a comment