diy lacquer box

Wow it’s been one heck of a week. Between traveling, the events in Boston, work life and regular life I was beat last week. Back at it though! I had found this box way back when at a thrift store for a few bucks.

wood box

Originally I had plans for it to live on the desk in our apartment, but then I decided since I live in a grey box at work it would be nice to add a little color. So, I ditched the black plastic office supply holder thing and I use this now instead.

I started with two colors of high gloss Martha Stewart acrylic paint. I also picked up a bottle of the high gloss clear to give it a final coat. I removed the hardware and painted the entire box the teal color. It took three coats to get it fully and evenly covered.

Then using my blue painters tape I taped off where I wanted the white lines to be. The trick to preventing the white paint from bleeding is to tape off the lines, and then paint over the edges with the main color. In my case that was the teal color. I let that dry fully and then with a fine tipped brush I painted on the white. I don’t remember exactly but it took me somewhere around 4-5 coats of the white to fully cover the teal.

tape lines

I let dry fully in between every coat of paint. Because of that this project actually took a good part of two days. But it was so easy to do and simple to paint a coat and do something else. Some of the coats of paint dried for 20 minutes, some dried for 2 hours. I would just add another coat when I thought of it.

diy lacquer box

After the entire thing was dry, I carefully peeled back the tape. There were definitely a few spots I needed to touch up. I did so with a very fine tip brush so I could be very precise. After that I added three coasts of the high gloss clear paint.

desk

And that was it! It now houses my post it notes, pens, etc. and keeps my desk area clutter free.

Leave a comment