diy (free!) storage boxes

A while back we had some boxes lying around waiting to be recycled. They were all different sizes, large ones, narrow ones and even a few beer boxes. I decided to give a few of them a makeover and create some free storage boxes. This project was entirely free for me as I already had some paint and fabric scraps. However, if you don’t have those items it’ll only cost a few dollars and you could always get away without adding the fabric.

I started by mixing a blackish grey and white paint together that we had. It produced a light grey/bluish color. I painted two coats on all sides of the boxes. They dry pretty quickly but I let them really dry and set for about 8 hours.

painted boxes

I then cut off the flaps on the top of the box. Now, this is the part I kind of made up as I went. I used some scrap fabric I had to create what looks like a liner in the box. However, I only wrapped it around the top part, I didn’t actually line the whole box. I measured and cut the correct amount of fabric, leaving excess to fold into the box. Using my iron I ironed a half-inch seam so that the fabric wouldn’t be uneven and fray

Then, using my hot glue gun, I glued the fabric onto the box. I glued one edge then tightly wrapped the rest around the perimeter. Then I folded the extra into the box and glued it there.  Does that make sense?! I forgot to take pictures of the process, probably because I’m the messiest painter ever and there was paint and hot glue strings everywhere. It was really easy, just make it up as you go, no one will know.

final box

In the end I had some nice, sturdy, free storage boxes. I even left the bottle dividers in one of the beer boxes and used it to separate and organize office supplies. In that one I used some other scrap fabric (the black and white) and glued it to the inside since it was smaller and you could actually see the inside.

box inside

Free. I love me some good free projects. Some of the sizes fit perfectly in our linen closet, others work well on the book cases. How about you guys? Any free projects you’ve been making using what you have around the house?

One thought on “diy (free!) storage boxes

  1. Pingback: diy faux drawers |

Leave a comment