giving new life to clothing with dye!

I’ve shared my dyed jeans before (which I still get SO many compliments on) and I’m still loving the idea of dyeing clothes. Especially if it gives new life to items. My mom gave me this Land’s End jacket in the spring. I really love it and it’s been a great light jacket for Colorado. However, it was white and I took it backpacking this summer. It poured, I threw it in the truck and muddy dogs and gear were all over it. I just figured it would come clean and it didn’t.

stains

I washed it, stain treated it, oxy cleaned it and nothing would take out the stains. But it was still a perfectly fine jacket except for the stains. Not wanting to toss it I decided to try dyeing it. The worst that could happen was that it didn’t work and I had to toss it anyway.

I grabbed a box of black Rit Dye for two bucks or so. Following the instructions on the package I dyed my jacket. Some fabrics don’t hold the dye as well and this was one of those fabrics, so it turned out light grey. However, it stilled covered all the mud stains and looks like a perfectly fine jacket. You can’t even tell the stains were there. I’m just psyched to still be able to wear the jacket. I might try dyeing it again to see if I can get it a bit darker, but for now it’s fine. Enter awkward, touristy photo.

jacket

I have another great dye project up my sleeve that I can’t wait to try. Will share afterwards!

2 thoughts on “giving new life to clothing with dye!

Leave a comment