sidelined again, seriously?

It’s been a while my dear readers! I hope you all had a fabulous Thanksgiving and long weekend. I had a few great posts for Thanksgiving in my head but never got around to getting them written and posted. Oh well, moving on, right?

Remember back in May when I told you about how I was sidelined due to a foot injury? Well, unfortunately, it’s worse. When we got out here to Colorado I made an appointment immediately to get it checked again. I’ve been in consistent pain since May, despite 3 doctors visits, 1 doctors phone call, 2 rounds of x-rays, a boot on my foot and a week off of work.

This doctor ordered another set of x-rays. I couldn’t believe my eyes when the image came up on the screen. Before he said anything I gasped and blurted out “holy crap it’s in three pieces.” The image was clear as day. A small bone, the sesamoid, in the ball of my foot was in three pieces; broken in two places.

After getting over the initial shock I got really, really pissed! HOW did this go unseen? I’ve been my own advocate for SEVEN months, I pushed and pushed for more answers, more x-rays and no one saw it until now. I nearly hugged the doctor.

His theory is that it was a hairline fracture to begin with that wasn’t clear on the  x-rays until now. Which means, I’ve made it worse by going about my life, which in turn caused it to break and put me where I am now.

I’m so, so, so happy to finally know what it is. The pain has been brutal and I consider myself to have a high pain tolerance, so knowing what it is and treating it is making me happy. Plan of action is to stay off my foot, increased vitamin D and calcium and 30 minutes a day on this bone stimulator machine. The darn thing cost us a bloody fortune but at this point WE will do anything to heal this foot.

So, while I’m totally angry, annoyed, bummed out and pissed off, I know that if I want to get better I have to be smart about recovery. It pains me that I can’t go out and walk or hike or anything in this gorgeous state of Colorado but I know I’ll get there.

Good thing about having to sit on my butt all the time is that I have tons of time to Pin things and think about awesome holiday crafts, gifts and decor. So stay tuned because I have lots coming up.

I also have lots to share with you all on our new place, our new bed and couch and lots of great thrift store finds. The thrift stores around here are amazing

5 thoughts on “sidelined again, seriously?

  1. Pingback: budget friendly gift giving: pampering in a jar «

  2. Pingback: february spending freeze «

  3. Pingback: high five for friday |

  4. OMG…I am currently experiencing the exact same injury and was given the exact same prognosis and treatment you were!!…I actually just dished out the crazy funds to get that bone regenerating contraption and have been using it daily now for about a month…did this form of therapy help heal your broken sesamoid? I like you have one that is entirely broken into pieces…please please tell me there is light at the end of this ever-annoying tunnel??? ~ Marie Sullivan

    • Hey Marie – I was incredibly aggressive with my treatment. I never missed a day with the bone machine, I took calcium and vitamin D faithfully (as recommend from my Dr.) I only wore sneakers for almost a year, I’m just now wearing other shoes and really I’ve only worn Tom’s. I did the minimal amount of walking as possibly always. I took elevators, never stairs. I listened to my body and I’m happy to say that it’s healing and I’m feeling good and running again, hiking, spinning, etc. It was aggressive and I hated not being active, but I knew I had to because I did NOT want surgery, which is the last resort if it doesn’t heal properly. It was last November when it was diagnosed as broken, so it’s been about 6 months. But like I said, if you do everything faithfully and correctly you’ll be back to normal life in no time. Once the bone was healed I also got custom orthodics (another $500!) but they’ve made a huge difference. Feel free to reach out/email me if you have more questions. As always, happy to discuss. Good luck!

Leave a comment