november pinterest project: yarn holiday wreath

I’ve been seeing these adorable yarn wreaths on Pinterest for a while now. Follow me on Pinterest if you don’t already! I wanted something to hang on our door for the holidays but we’re living in an apartment building so we don’t really need a big huge wreath on the door.

I found a wreath form thing (technical term there) at the thrift store. It was on sale and I had a coupon so I think I got it for a dollar. I also found a huge bag of yarn that I grabbed for $2. I already had other ribbon and twine.

I started by hot gluing one end of the yarn to the form. And then, very simply, but a little tediously, I wrapped the form in yarn.

I had picked up this cluster of bells at the same thrift store for a buck or two. It’s meant to hang on a door knob, but I decided to take the whole thing apart and use the bells on my wreath.

I used more yarn to tie the bells onto the wreath and then cut the ends of the yarn very small so they weren’t hanging off. I made a random cluster of them with no real order. On the back of the wreath I hot glued a loop of ribbon too, so that it could hang. I reinforced with with a few pins as well.

Once I had the bells secure I started playing around with other ribbons and the twine. I liked the look of the twine with the red velvet ribbon against the white yarn. I wrapped some twine and the ribbon, hot gluing it as well, until I had a nice little wreath.

I decided to hang it on the inside of our door. I figured, I made it, I want to look at it!

Our door has this cute little secret door on it that opens up so you can see who’s at your door. I hung the wreath so that the little door can still open.

I really love the way it came out and I love the slight jingle of the bells whenever the door opens. It ended up costing me less than $5 and I have a TON of yarn left over for other projects.

Have you guys made any cute wreaths to kick off this holiday season or any other great holiday door decor?

 

Leave a comment